top of page

1927: Cuckfield Walking race winners earn handsome prizes ...

Updated: Apr 26, 2022

Mid Sussex Times - Tuesday 19 April 1927



Cuckfield, which started the recent walking-race craze in Mid-Sussex, was the scene of another interesting contest yesterday (Easter Monday) morning. The promoters were the Committee of the Cuckfield Club, and the race was originally intended for members, but later it was decided to receive entries from non-members.

The course was 5 1/10th miles, and the competitors had to walk to the “Sergison Arms,” Haywards Heath, down Paddockhall Road, by the Railway Station, along Mill Road, up Balcombe Road, traverse the road which enters the main road just below Whiteman's Green and finish at the Club, which was also the starting point. Mr. A. T. Rapley acted as starter and judge, Mr. F. Hoadley as timekeeper, and Messrs, E. Bleach. E. W. Farncombe, F. Humphrey and VV. J, Gasson as stewards of the course.

The following sixteen entrants started : —Messrs. N, Bowell. B, Bowell, R. Brigden, A. Brigden, L. Ballard. T. M. Bellchamber, W. Bailey. P. Frost, H. F. Jaggard. J. Malins, J. Newman, W. Newnham, C. Rowland, F. Sendles, J. Twiner and B. Wells. At Haywards Heath Station


with R. Brigden three yards behind. The latter got in front just before reaching Hanlye Farm and, steadily gaining, he finished the course in strong style in 52min., a smart performance. Bellchamber was 43sec. behind him, with Ballard third, N. Bowell fourth, Rowland fifth. Twiner sixth, A. Brigden seventh, B. Bowel! eighth, Jaggard ninth and Newnham tenth. The other six competitors dropped out at various points.

The walking race starts at the Cuckfield Club c1940 (photograph courtesy of Cuckfield Museum)

The prizes were presented by Mr. F. Hoadlev in the Club as follow: —First, ticket value £1 4s. on any local tradesman who is a member of the Club, R. Brigden (52min.); 2nd, pair of shoes, value £1 1s., presented by Mr. F. Hoadley, T. M. Bellchamber (52min. 43sec.); 3rd, bottle of whisky, presented by Mr. R. T. Anscombe, L. Ballard (54min.); 4th, bottle of port, presented by Mr. R. Blasdale - Holmes, N. Bowell (54min. 45sec.); free membership of the Club for year for first non-member home after first three, C. Rowland (35min. 30sec.); sweepstake for bottle of port for non-prize-winners who finished in less than an hour, A. Brigden.

A large number of people watched the start and finish of the race, which proved an excellent holiday attraction.



bottom of page